This summer has been randomly wonderful. It can best be described as a “Summer of Moments.”

In the midst of applying to teaching jobs, I have the joy of playing with this guy.

Weekends have provided moments of relaxation with both friends and family. Last weekend was spent with Tim’s family in Lincoln City. We celebrated Laura’s (Tim’s oldest sister) birthday, played cards, ran like kids on the beach at night (there’s something so liberating about running as fast as you can!), and simply enjoyed each others’ company.

Tim’s mom makes THE best Strawberry Ruhbarb Pie! The candles spell out “24” 🙂

I LOVE YOU, JULIA!!!

Why I love Tim so much, captured in a picture 🙂

Of course “Summer Moments” have to include food! I made Tim dinner lats night, and after adding one layer on top of another, this creation in a bowl was formed.

First important note before I go into the ingredients–this is a very filling meal. I would suggest making a smaller bowl 🙂 Becca was STUFFED (in a good way) last night!

Layers (from bottom to top):

1) Spinach
2) Quinua
3) Sweet potatos
4) Zuchinni/ Stir-fry peas
5) Black beans
6) Avacado

Finally, top it all off with some Tomato, Basil Marinara Sauce. Oh my, this was so gooooood!

“Summer Moments” are always good when there’s healthy, colorful food to enjoy it with! This could actually be really good picnic food.

Lastly, I thought I would share with you what my daily eats look like. Here’s a list of what I had today…

7:30am Bowl of cereal (low-fat granolla)
9:30am 1/2 iced coffee (shared it with Tim…we both needed it!)
10:30am 1 organic plum
12:00pm Larabar (pre-run fuel)
2:15ish Green Monster–post-run recovery (included 2 small bananas, 1 Tbl Chia Seeds, 1 cup Almond Milk, 2 handfuls of spinach, 4 ice-cubs)
3:15pm 3 pieces of dried mango
6:00pm Veggie Sandwich with Carrot Frieds (and there may or may not have been a piece of dark chocolate for dessert)

All together now.

That is one DE-LICIOUS dinner! Tim enjoyed the same meal, except with sweet potato fries!

Next post will about my training plans for my next 1/2 marathon in October…”The Dressler Half.” Oh yes! Tim and I are putting together our very own 1/2 marathon!!!!

