Today’s events centered around blueberries. I mean, how could I not write about blueberries when I’ve got 2 of these bags sitting in my fridge!!

I’ve gotta show you a close up of these babies!

Tim’s grandparents have been so gracious in sharing their garden’s delights with us this summer. Blueberries, rasberries, green beans. lettuce, and (oh my!) the strawberries!!! I regret not showing you the HUGE bowl full of strawberries that were delivered to us.

So how did I incorporate BLUEBERRIES into my day? Well, if you noticed in the picture above (it’s the blurry part), I BAKED!!!

I revised a couple recipes to come up with these wonderful, “BLUEBERRY, LEMON OATMEAL MUFFINS”. And yes! They tast just as amazing as they sound.

Blueberry, Lemon, Oatmeal Muffins

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

1 cup flour (I used White, Whole Wheat)
1 cup oatmeal
1 Tbl baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup sugar (I used Raw Cane Sugar)

Mix the above dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl and put aside. In separate bowl, mix the following:

1/2 cup canola oil
3/4 cup vanilla almond milk
1/2 mashed banana
1 tsp vanilla extract
Finely grated zest of 1 lemon

Now gently fold in the wet and dry ingredients. Be careful not to over mix. Finally, add in the main ingredient! The BLUEBERRIES!!!

1 1/4 cup fresh blueberries (preferrably from your grandparents’ garden!)

Fill each muffin cup three-quarters full. Bake 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick or knife inserted in the center of one comes out clean.

Oh, and I had company while baking today 🙂

This is Jasper. I’m nannying him this summer, so you might see more pictures of him! He’s 14 months old and soooo precious!

The blueberry fun doesn’t stop here! Jasper and I proceeded to the park once the muffins were out of the oven, and we had a picnic. However, I was rather lonely while eating my Raw Almond Butter, Agave, and Banana sandwhich, because of this…

When I finished my sandwhich, I enjoyed the sounds of the park (my favorite!) and read some of this book.

Yay! Jasper woke up! And guess what he had for lunch??

BLUEBERRIES!!! He’s obsessed!

He’s so handsome.

It was a lovely day. Berry picking with Jasper tomorrow at Sauvie Island. Happy summer eating to everyone 🙂

