Well, I just finished my second 1/2 marathon. Same race as last time; it’s called Race for the Roses. And lucky me, both years brought good weather πŸ™‚ Never predicatable for Portland.

I started my morning off with a banana and almond butter and some Coconut Water. Coconut water is a new find for me–it’s pretty much the natural version of gatorade without all the extra sugar. Here’s a little piece of info from a website that sells Coconut Water.

ZICO [Coconut Water brand] contains the five essential electrolytes your body needs to keep nerves firing, muscles moving and to help manage stress. One ZICO has more potassium than a banana – 15 times more than most sports drinks – to prevent cramping and promote recovery. Drink ZICO before or during a workout for the natural energy you need for optimal performance. After a workout, ZICO replenishes and re-hydrates you to speed recovery.

After breakfast I went to pick up my friend, Tina, who also ran the 1/2 marathon. Keep in mind that it’s 6am right now…ick.

So how did the race go?

It could have been better. But finishing any race is better than not racing at all, right? My goal was to beat my first 1/2 marathon time which was 117 minutes (average 9 minute miles), but the first mile that I started running, my left quad was shoot pain through my leg 😦 I noticed that it was sore yesterday, but didn’t think anything of it. This is a reoccuring pain/injury…it stems from my soccer days when I didn’t stretch properly or treat injuries the best.

Since you already know that I finished the race, I’ll let you know it wasn’t an easy one to finish. At mile 7 I even put the thought in my head that I may not be able to finish this race…but I truged on, having to slow my pace down 😦 I had the energy to run, but my leg was dragging. Oh frustration!

My time: 2 hours and 4 minutes

Not terrible, but I had it in me to do better. I had to stop about 4 times to stretch my leg. At least there’s the summer–more 1/2 marathons!!!

I still feel happy to run though! And yes, I wore my “Smile Jesus Loves You” shirt!!!

I’m going to rest my leg up…and I say leg because my right leg feels GREAT!!! (oh frustration…again!) Maybe I’ll run my own 13 miles πŸ™‚

Thank you for everyone who prayed for me this morning! You kept me going until the end.

Do you have any injuries from the past that haunt you?

