I get a day off today!! The 7th graders are doing state testing today, so there was really no point in me sitting around.

Sidenote: Right now I’m watching the Food.Inc documentary, and OH MY!!! I don’t think I’ll ever be able to eat chicken again. The way chickens and cows are raised today–there are no farms! It’s literally a factory. A mind-blowing film!

Well, let me introduce you to a chicken-free recipe 🙂 (and vegan). Last night I made Chickpea Broccoli Casserole and it was delicious. It’s a perfect comfort food–warm and gooey! I got the recipe from Vegan With a Vengeance cookbook.


Ingerdients

2 (16-ounce) cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 large onion, quartered and thinly sliced
3 large carrots, grated (about 2 cups)
1 head broccoli, cut into small florets (about 4 cups)
2 Tbl thinly sliced chives
1/2 cup bread crumbs (whole wheat is always better!)
3 Tbl olive oil
1 cup vegetable broth
1 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a large bowl mash the chickpeas well, using a potato masher or a firm fork. Add the vegetables and mex well. Add the bread crumbs and mix, then add the oil and mix again. Finally, add the vegetable broth and salt, and mix one last time. Transfer all ingredients to a casserole dish. Press the mixture firmly into the dish. Cover with foil, bake for 45 minutes. Uncover and bake for 15 more minutes.

Makes really good leftovers (amazing cold!)

Have I ever showed you my amazing kitchen that I cook in? It’s the picture at the top of my blog too, but here are a couple views…

I hope that my house will have a kitchen like this! It’s so open and lots of counter space!

What am I going to do with the rest of my day??? Lesson plans, bake some cookies, and go for a long run!! (Hopefully 85-90 minutes!)

