Sorry I’ve been gone for a while. Tim was sick last week and passed on the germ to me 😦 It hit me on Friday so I’ve been taking it easy…lots of Netflix movies πŸ™‚ Even though I was sick, doesn’t mean I didn’t have some pretty exciting stuff happen to me…

I GOT MY CHIA SEEDS!!! Ok…I’m a “Health Nerd!” I also got this in the mail…

Add these two foods to a Green Monster, and you’ve got an immune booster! Ever since I discovered these green goodnesses on the blog world, I’ve been hooked! My energy level has sky-rocketed and have been especially helpful while I’m sick.

My new goal: incorporating Amazing Food Superfood and Chia seeds into my foods every day. A really easy way is through my Green Monster smoothies in the morning (or after a good workout), OR…I can get creative πŸ™‚ Why not add some chia seeds to some overnight oats, cookies, my cereal in the morning or some HOME MADE PUDDING!!!

I know this picture may not be the most appetizing, but I can have Tim vouchure for me too…THIS WAS THE BEST PUDDING I’VE EVER HAD!!! It’s called Choco-cado Pudding. It’s origin...Gina’s Choosing Raw blog. However, I used a modified recipe from Oh She Glows blog. If I were a food photographer, here’s what the picture would have looked like!

Ingredients:

β€’1/4 cup almond butter
β€’1/2 cup agave (dark) (I used 1/4 cup)
β€’1/2 cup water (I forgot to add the water, but I loved how thick it was!)
β€’1/8 cup cocoa powder
β€’small pinch sea salt
β€’1 medium avocado
β€’1 tablespoon coconut oil (I used coconut butter)
β€’1 teaspoon vanilla
Directions: Throw all ingredients into a food processor and process until smooth.

And speaking of coconut oil, this is going to be another staple in my pantry!

The coconut oil made the pudding so rich and creamy that I decided to add it to some oatmeal, carob chip cookies by replacing the canola oil with the coconut oil, and….OH MY!!! Hands down, Tim and I’s favorite cookie EVER. I’m so sorry I didn’t take a picture of them, but no worries…I will be making these again soon (probably this week). Ingredients to come πŸ™‚

Side note: Tim and I went on a walk yesterday πŸ™‚ I love walk and talks, especially when Portland’s sun decides to come out!

Speaking of activies that involve moving the legs, this past week was definitely an off week for me as far as training. Partially because I got sick, but also because I was exceptionally tired from student teaching. Here’s what my week’s workouts looked like:

Monday: recovery day from my 9 mile run the day before
Tuesday: too tired to do anything and I just wanted to spend time with Tim πŸ™‚
Wednesday: 60 minute run
Thursday: taking care of my sck husband
Friday: I was getting sick 😦
Saturday: ran on the tredmill for 30 minutes (8:30 minute miles) and then did the elypitical for 20 minutes
Sunday: walk with Tim πŸ™‚
Today (Monday): 50 minute run

Despite being sick, I am so proud of the energy my body still has and how quickly it’s healing itself. I guess it does pay off to be healthy! Saturday I probably should not have done so much, but Tim was helping a guy out in the weight room, so I thought, why not! I recommend sleeping and resting when you’re sick though!!!!

Today’s run wasn’t hard, so I’m glad I didn’t loose my endurance from not being so productive last week. I’m going to have to fit in a 9 miler some time this week! I’ll let you know how that goes πŸ™‚

Update on my Lent–“Pray when I think negatively about my body image”–it’s going great! I’m becoming more thankful for the body God gave me every day!

Blessings on your week!

