Despite Tim being a little sick, he made me dinner!!!  Last night I was browsing online for some recipes that had eggplant in them so Tim and I could cook it tonight for dinner, and I kept running into these Eggplant Parmesan recipes, and every time I would show Tim a picture of Eggplant Parmesan, he would go, “Oooooooo!”  He loves anything gooey… and yet we really don’t eat cheese, go figure!

Anyway…Tim insisted on making me dinner tonight after looking at these pictures, but since we really don’t eat cheese, Tim wanted to make up his own recipe–Tim’s verson of eggplant parmesan.  The final product…

Tim is peeking through the oven mit 🙂

Tim would like to call this, “Tim’s Parmesana!”  (notice the “a” at the end of parmesan).

Ingredients

eggplant

zuchinni

onion

tomato basil marinara sauce

fresh basil

bread crumbs

Bake slices of eggplant and onion in the oven at 350 degrees until it begins to brown (10-15 minutes).  Then begin to layer!  First, the eggplant, then the whole slices of onion, slices of zuchinni, fresh basil leaves, and tomato basil sauce.  Bake a few more minutes then take out and put the bread crumbs on top.  Broil for 5 minutes, and WA-LA!  Timmy’s ParmesanA!

It was so sweet of him!  I usually make us dinner, just because I LOVE to cook, but it was nice sitting back this time and smelling the wonderful aromas of grilled veggies!  Here’s my plate 🙂  That’s New Season’s bread on the side–Walnut Wheat Break!

I love Timmy 🙂

Later tonight I ended up baking some cookies!  I tried Susan’s Fat Free Vegan blog to find a recipe.  I decided on her “Maple, Banana, Oatmeal Cookies”.  But since I didn’t have maple syrup, I modified it a bit.

As you can see in the picture above, there’s an empty Agave Syrup container–this is what I substituted for the maple syrup.

Banana, Oatmeal, Agave Carob Chip Cookies (what a wonderful mouth-ful!)

Ingredients

2 tsp ground flax seed

1 cup quick oats

1 cup flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp. cinnimmon

Mix all these dry ingrdients together, then add to the following wet ingredients:

1 mashed banana

1/2 cup Agave syrup

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Mix 🙂  Oh, and I added Carob chips (probably 1/2 cup)

These pretty much taste like overnight oats.  Same ingredients even!  There’s just flour and baking powder and such in these.  Oh my!  A cookie with no oil or butter–wohoo!!!!

Well, that’s another evening of “good eats” in the Dressler home 🙂 

p.s.  I haven’t had a negative thought about my body for a week now!!!  God is amazing 🙂

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
