It is SO good to be back in Portland.  It just feels so right to be here!  And to top it off, what a beautiful, sunny day!

Here’s a view of my street right before I left for a run. 

Speaking of running, the air MUST be cleaner here!  Because breathing is so much easier to do here while I run–no joke. 

Today’s run was 43 minutes.  I ran a usual route for myself, but get this–I ran further and still made it back earlier than usual.  I must be picking up my pace 🙂  Tim said, “It must have been the sun!”  I think he’s right.

When I got home I refueled with a Larabar (cashew cookie) and a couple of dates.

Earlier on in the day I baked some cookies!!  Surprised?  I love making Tim smile with my cookies 🙂  I got this recipe off of PostPunkKitchen website–so many good vegan recipes there.  I’ll be using this website as a resource quite a bit!

I made Pumpkin Oatmeal cookies!

A super soft cookies–almost gooey inside!  Just how Tim and I like it.  Here’s the reciple.  Note: I substituted chocolate chips for the raisins and walnuts.  I also cut the recipe in half, since I probably will want to bake a new kind later on in the week 🙂

Ingredients
2 cups flour
1 1/3 cups rolled oats
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1 2/3 cups sugar
2/3 cup canola oil
2 tablespoons molasses
1 cup canned pumpkin, or cooked pureed pumpkin
1 teaspoon vanilla
optional: 1 tablespoon ground flax seeds

As many chocolate chips as you want!

Directions
Preheat oven to 350. Have ready 2 greased baking sheets.

Mix together flour, oats, baking soda, salt and spices.

In a seperate bowl, mix together sugar, oil, molasses, pumpkin and vanilla (and flax seeds if using) until very well combined. Add dry ingredients to wet in 3 batches, folding to combine. Fold in walnuts and raisins.

Drop by tablespoons onto greased cookie sheets. They don’t spread very much so they can be placed only an inch apart. Flatten the tops of the cookies with a fork or with your fingers, to press into cookie shape. Bake for 16 minutes at 350

Tim took a couple cookies with him to his class tonight 🙂

Dinner tonight was not what I had originally planned, but we needed to eat up the leftover Papa Murphies pizza from last night before it gets bad.  Well, at least Tim at it.  I made myself a veggies sandwich with a side salad.

I tried out this flourless bread, and I honestly couldn’t tell the difference 🙂  Oh, and after I finished this plate of yumminess, I treated myself to a Pumpkin Oatmeal cookie–oh my!

Before I go, I wanted to include one last picture.  While I was visiting home, my mom wanted to treat my sister and I to a center piece for our kitchen tables.  Well, my first thought was…my apartment is so random that I don’t know if a center piece will fit in.  (I love the randomness of our apartment!)  BUT LOW AND BEHOLD!  There was a center piece that I fell in love with.  And here it is!

Tim and I had daisies at our wedding, and daisies were a part of how Tim proposed to me, so…I LOVE DAISIES!  And the simplicity of this center piece is beautiful.  I think it fits in perfectly 🙂  Thanks, Mom!

Sister–be sure mom sees this post 🙂

God bless!

