Exciting news!  Oh my, such exciting news!!!  I’m going home next week–home meaning, Turlock, CA–where my family lives 🙂  I get a whole week with them, which means you’ll be seeing lots of pictures of family next week!

So like the title of this post says–“When I’m happy–I bake!”  Dinner last night was DE-LICIOUS!!!  I went to New Seasons and bought some yummy, freshly baked ciabatta rolls and grilled some veggies to make the whole thing into a sandwhich.  The result….

There are many layers to this masterpiece 🙂

Avacado, hummus, roasted red peppers, roasted egglant, grilled onions, fresh basil leaves, and juicy slices of tomato!  It was a messy amazingness!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As I was talking, actually squeeling!, on the phone with my sister about coming to visit her, I started baking cookies!!  I feel like I was just in the kitchen and somehow, subconciously, started baking 🙂  It’s a true reflection of my HAPPINESS!!!

I tried out this vegan recipe on “Post Punk Kitchen’s” website.  I changed the recipe a bit (like I always do), but lets just say these cookies were definitely a guilty pleasure 🙂  I usually like baking cookies that provide some good health benefits, like oatmeal or banana or less oil and more almond milk, or agave syrup instead of sugar, etc.  But this time!  I made them deliciously a treat for my belly 🙂  A girl can splurge (especially after such good news and a great work out!)

The cookie:  Vegan, Chewy, Almond, Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients
3/4 cup canola oil
2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract/ 1 teaspoon almond extract

1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon whole flax seeds
1/2 cup soymilk

2 cups all purp flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup chocolate chips

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 F.

In a large bowl sift together flour, baking soda and salt.

In a seperate large bowl cream together oil and sugar. Add the flax seed/soy milk mixture and mix well. Add the vanilla/almond extract.

Fold in the dry ingredients in batches. When it starts to get too stiff to mix with a spatula, use your hands until a nice stiff dough forms. Add the chocolate chips and mix with your hands again.

Roll dough into 1 inch balls and flatten into a disc that’s about 1 1/2 inches in diameter. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet about an inch apart.

Bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for about 5 minutes, then set them on a wire rack to cool completely.

What makes these cookies so amazing!  Making them original from the usual chocolate chip cookies???

Almond Extract!!  Any cookie that has this flavor is so good.  You’ll be seeing a lot more baking recipes with almond extract 🙂

The apartment smells so yummy!!!  P.S. Tim couldn’t stop eating the cookie dough!!!

The final product…

Seriously, a sinful treat, but worth it!  I had one cookie for dessert 🙂

Speaking of sweet foods, today was my “Goodbye” party for working in Admissions @ Concordia, and they got a Vegan, Gluten Free Chocolate cake for me–it was yummy!  I’ll probably snack on some veggies this afternoon since the slice of cake was eaten around 11am 🙂

Breakfast however, my favorite…fruit!  This is my usual breakfast–so refreshing for the morning!

Packed it to go for work 🙂 

Later today Tim and I are going on a bike ride–it will be good to loosen up my legs.  Long runs the next couple of days before I travel to California!!!

