Breakfast…yummy!!! You know why I love breakfast so much? Because usually breakfast is something sweet πŸ™‚ Like oatmeal with honey and banana, or granola, or like this morning, whole wheat pancakes with agave syrup!!! Sometimes I just wake up excited for breakfast. And what’s the most comforting of all breakfast foods? A good bowl of cereal!

Tim and I love our cereal! Here are just some of our favorites. I’m especially impressed with the Ezekiel cereal (or anything Ezekiel at that…bread, cereal, muffins, tortillas).

This cereal blows my mind! Here’s a little bit of what it says on the back of box…”Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Grain Cereal is inspired by the Holy Scripture verse: ‘Take also unto thee Wheat and Barley and Beans and Lentils and Millet and Spelt and put them in one vessel and make bread of it…’ Ez. 4:9 We discovered when these six grains an legumes are sprouted and combined, an amazing thing happens. A complete protein is created that closely parallels the protein found in milk and eggs. In fact, the protein quality is so high, that it is 84.3% as efficient as the highest recognized source of protein, containing all 9 essential amino acids. Plus, there are 18 amino acids present in this unique cerel–from all vegetable sources!”

How amazing is God! He gave us all the nutrients we need on this Earth. We don’t need to change them–they are simply perfect. When I eat whole, declicious foods, I feel like I’m treating my body as a temple for God. I’m respecting my body and humbled by its creation. To me…this is health.

What else have I been up to this week?

There might have been some baking πŸ™‚ I used the recipe on the back of an oatmeal bag, and changed it up a bit to make these delicious Vegan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies!

Ingredients

3 cups oatmeal
1 1/3 cup flour
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp baking powder
1-2 mashed banana
2/3 cup Coconut oil (melted)
1/2 cup raw cane sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 bag of dark chocolate chips (or however much you want!)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine wet ingredients in one bowl and the dry ingredients in another. Then put the two together to create amazingness cookie dough! Careful, it’s almost better raw πŸ™‚ Bake for approx. 8-10 minutes and enjoy!!

For me, this is the perfect consistency for a cookies. Kinda crispy on the outside, but gooey and chewey in the middle. One of my favorites by far!

Another quick recipe to share! Tim and I were craving pizza, but didn’t feel like making pizza dough, so we used a tortilla!

Tim and Becca’s Simple Pizze on a Tortilla

We added some marinara sauce for the base then roasted some eggplant, onion, zuchinni and red pepper.

We also added some fresh basil and olives. Bake it in the oven at 400 degrees for 10 minutes, and PERFECTO!!! You’ve got pizza πŸ™‚

I like how the tortilla became cripsy around the edges and was still soft in the middle. It was a great twist on a thin crust pizza! I ate mine while catching up on some other food blogs πŸ™‚

For those of you living in Portland, did you catch the WARM sun yesterday???

Tim and I hung out at the track for a while. I definitely soaked up the sun! There was a soccer team getting ready for a game too, and oh how I miss soccer!!!!

Tim and I also took advantage of the good weather by heading over to Forrest Park to go on a run together. I decided to get in my long run while the weather was this good, so we ended up running 10 miles together πŸ™‚ Tim is such a great encouragement. And don’t ask me how he was able to run that after a week of track practice! He’s superman to me!!!

I’m filling the run today though…a 3-4 miles of it was up hill!!!!! We finished the run at 93 minutes. I LOVE TIM!!! Thank you for running with me.

WEEK’S RECAP OF TRAINING…
(keep in mind I was still getting over being sick)

Monday- 50 minute run
Tuesday- rest day (my cough was getting bad)
Wednesday- 35 minute run (was supposed to be a long run, but it felt like I had asma from this cold!!)
Thursday- 35 minute run with Timmy πŸ™‚
Friday- rest day
Saturday- 10 mile run

I’m hoping to get in a couple more 10-12 mile runs before the big 1/2 marathon (second weekend of April!) HAPPY SUNDAY EVERYONE!

Question: What do you usually eat for breakfast?