Oh how wonderful it is to sleep in with the love of your life!  It was much needed.  Tim added up the hours we slept, including our afternnoon nap, and when I fel asleep watching Iron Man last night= 15.5 hours of sleep!!!  WOW!  It’s going to be hard to wake up early tomorrow–I’ve been spoiled!

Right now our apartment smells like Blueberry Waffles 🙂  Yes!  Last night I made the batter so that we could just wake up, put the stuff in the belgin waffle maker, and PERFECTO!!!  I got the recipe from this cookbook:

Because dairy doesn’t do so well in my stomach, I found that vegan recipes work well when it comes to baking!  I’ll probably be referring to this cookbook again for some yummy cookies 🙂  I took a waffle recipe in here, but I tweeked it to make my own (I do that a lot with recipes!)…

Vegan Whole Wheat Blueberry Waffles (with some kicks!)

1 cup, plus 2 Tbl whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

handful of coconut

handful of rolled oats

1 very ripe banana (mashed)

1 1/2 cups Almond Milk

3 Tbl Agave Syrup

3 Tbl Canola oil

Mix dry ingredients in one bowl and the wet ingredients in another, then combine!  I like sliced bananas for a topping, plus some sprinkled coconut and Agave Syrup (real maple syrup is yummy too!)

It still smells sooooo good in our apartment!!!

I ate half a waffle at first, then asked Tim for one more triangle from his 🙂  They were just so yummy.

So my point of showing you what I eat all day is not to say–look at the yummy food I’m eating and you can’t!!!  Not at all!  My point is to show you that you can eat DECLICIOUS foods as a part of living a healthy life 🙂  It’s about using good ingredients and giving your body the nutrients it needs!!!  Eating healthy does not have to deprive you of sweet goodness like waffles–believe me, with my sweet tooth that would be difficult!  Also, notice that I’m still eating good portions and 3 meals a day (plus a snack!) 

I tried counting calories at one point in my life (when I was trying to loose the “freshman 15”–oh yes, I got it!), but I became obsessive about it and never really enjoyed what I was eating.  I also stopped paying attention to what nutrients my body craved!  I was limiting it–not good. 

As I’ve learned to LIVE a healthy life, I’ve become better at listening to what my body needs.   I’m much more SANE now.  It allows me to be less self-centered and pay more attention to the people around me.  This life style is healthy both physcially AND emotionally.

Anyway, I hope that these recipes will help you understand what it means to be healthy–it’s not a diet!  I LOVE FOOD AND I LOVE EATING–so a diet just wouldn’t work for me 🙂  I used to hate veggies before coming to college, nowI can’t go without them a single day!  It was a slow change, but pretty soon I could finally HEAR what my body was telling me, actually SCREAMING at me!!!

Happy Sunday to everyone 🙂